How Being A Feminist Monopolized My Rape

Thought Catalog

Got your own confession? We’ll publish anonymously. Send it to Thought Catalog Anonymous.

Since I was a little girl I would consider myself a feminist. It didn’t take me reading Betty Friedan to know something was up. Even in what most people would consider a balanced relationship, it didn’t take long to notice something I didn’t agree with in my parents’ relationship. It would just take my Dad being mad for me to notice. He could yell and threaten, sometimes silently, and my Mom would shut down.

I reveled in my feminism, in my being part of a solution to what I saw as the greatest injustice in society. After all, women are every race, size, IQ and sexual orientation.

That was all until I was raped.

It took days for me to even label what happened to me was rape. I was hesitant to own the label —…

View original post 735 more words

This entry was written by Belle and published on August 16, 2013 at 2:56 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

